Premium Inca Trail Trek to Machu Picchu
Groups of up to 8 and a toilet tent on the whole trail; the premium price needs two travellers.
- 4 days
- tents
- up to 8
- not stated
TL;DR: There is no lodge-to-lodge luxury trek on the Inca Trail itself: every classic trek camps. What premium buys is a group of eight, a toilet tent and more carried for you — on one classic listing at $1,499. The rest of what is sold as luxury is private short-trail treks and glamping domes on Salkantay.

Five listings sold on comfort rather than price: one premium classic trek, a private short trek and three Salkantay treks with domes or the panoramic train.
From-prices as of 28 Sep 2026, per person, checked on GetYourGuide.
Groups of up to 8 and a toilet tent on the whole trail; the premium price needs two travellers.
Over the Salkantay pass to Machu Picchu; zero metres of Inca Trail and no permit needed.
Your own guide on the short trail with a hotel night; the price is for the party, so it only makes sense for two or more.
Over the Salkantay pass to Machu Picchu; zero metres of Inca Trail and no permit needed.
Over the Salkantay pass to Machu Picchu; zero metres of Inca Trail and no permit needed.
Lodge-to-lodge treks exist in the Cusco region, but not on the Inca Trail, where only campsites are allowed. On GetYourGuide the nearest thing is Salkantay: glamping domes, Andean huts and a 3-star hotel on the last night, with the panoramic train back on some listings.
None of these walks the Inca Trail or enters through the Sun Gate.
The most comfortable way onto the Inca Trail is not a premium classic trek but the two-day short trail: one day of walking from Km 104, no pass, and a hotel bed in Aguas Calientes that night. The most-reviewed two-day trek includes a 3-star hotel, the guided citadel and the Vistadome back.
| Our pick | Small group | Premium | |
|---|---|---|---|
| From, per person | $798 | $823 | $1,499 |
| Group, at most | 16 | 10 | 8 |
| Porter for your things | 7 kg | 5 kg | not stated |
| Toilet tent | yes | no | yes |
| Train back | Vistadome | not stated | not stated |
| Books for one traveller | yes | yes, at about $1,605 | no — needs 2 |
| Reviews | 594 | 17 | none yet |
Listing facts as of 28 Sep 2026.
On the Inca Trail, premium means fewer people, not better beds. The campsites are the same for every operator, and the tents, the food and the porters' work are what the reviews praise on the most-booked trek too. What you buy with the extra is space: a group of eight instead of sixteen, and a guide with more time for each person.
Much of what a premium price buys can be added to an ordinary trek. The things that change a trek most are the train back, the night after and the kit you rent, and each is visible on the listing before you pay.
Group sizeThe one thing you cannot add afterwards is a smaller group. That is set by the listing: eight, ten or sixteen trekkers at most.
Three of the treks on this page have a full review, with the price for one and for two at checkout.
The answers separate a premium trek from a well-run ordinary one better than the price does. Listings that name the porter kilograms, the toilet tent and the train are easier to compare.
No. The Inca Trail allows only campsites; every classic trek sleeps in tents. Lodge and dome treks run on other routes such as Salkantay.
On the one premium classic listing: groups of up to eight and a toilet tent on the full route. It needs two travellers.
The short two-day trail with a hotel night, especially a private version. You walk one day and sleep in a bed.
No, on Salkantay. The domes and huts are below the Salkantay pass, not on the permit route.
Eight trekkers, on two classic listings including the premium one. Several others cap the group at ten.
Mattresses are rented at the briefing on most classic treks, and one listing includes a sleeping bag and mat. Premium listings list a toilet tent; ask the operator about tent size before booking.
Not in the listings we compare: the two-day treks name 3-star or simpler hotels in Aguas Calientes, and the classic treks return to Cusco the same evening. A better hotel is something to book yourself for the night after.
No. The Inca Trail campsites are shared by every operator. What differs is the equipment and the group: tents, mattresses, a toilet tent, and how many trekkers share the camp.
For a smaller group, often. For comfort at night, less so: everyone camps. If a bed matters, the short trail is the answer.
Updated 29 Sep 2026 · listing prices as of 28 Sep 2026, checkout prices checked on GetYourGuide 26–29 Sep 2026.